Testing

Today is testing day for Samuel.  I don’t know who is more nervous, him or me.  In a way you are being tested as well.  Especially if you follow a more eclectic approach to your home education and then your child is asked to take several hours of standardized tests.  I feel the anxiaty rising.

Just relax.  We have gone through the practice tests and Samuel has done well.  He claims I have hid my anxiaty well–he has not noticed it.  Very good!!!  And now as he very wisely said last night, “This test is just to show what I have learned so far.  I am not expected to know it all right now for this test.  Right?”  Very wise young man.

So now I will serve him a healthy breakfast of Tofu scramble, potato hash with salsa, guacamole and tofu sour cream.  Topped off with a fruit salad and a glass of rice milk.  Yum!

Then he will go with his father to the church office and do his testing there–a much quieter environment than our very busy house.  I will tell you how it all goes.

We are privileged to be able to test our own children in our state (provided you have a college degree and are using an accredited test).  How is testing done in your state?  How do you prepare for testing?

 

Leave a Reply

