A quiet heart…

“I think I find most help in trying to look on all the interruptions and hindrances to work that one has planned out for oneself as discipline, trials sent by God to help one against getting selfish over one’s work.  Then one can feel that perhaps one’s true work–one’s work for God–consists in doing some trifling haphazard thing that has been thrown into one’s day.  It is not a waste of time, as one is tempted to thing, it is the most important part of the work of the day–the part one can best offer to God. After such a hinderance, do not rush after the planned work, trust that the time to finish it will be given sometime, and keep a quiet heart about it.”   –Annie Keary (1825-1879)

I pray you have been just as encouraged by this quote as I have been.  I have to admit that I have not had a quiet heart of late.  I have allowed my daily work to take precedence over the little interruptions in my day.  I have not seen these interruptions as blessings.  Reading this quote tonight I have been reminded and convicted again about what is truly important.

It is more important to:

  • Listen to my child  and understand him than trying to educate him only.
  • Cuddle with my child than worrying about keeping her clean.
  • Laugh with my children than stress about the toys, books and pencils that are strung from one end of the house to the other.
  • Enjoy the precious few moments I have with my children than worry about the future and what I still have not done to prepare them.
  • Have my house FEEL like a home than look like one (out of a magazine–perfectly clean and organized)

So thank you Annie for the words of wisdom that have helped me refocus on what is truly important to me.

Learn more about Annie KEARY (1825—1879)English novelist, was born near Wetherby, Yorkshire, on the 3rd of March 1825, the daughter of an Irish clergyman and educated at home (a homeschool graduate!!!). She was the author of several children‘s books and novels, of which the best known is Castle Daly, an Irish story . She also wrote an Early Egyptian History (1861) and The Nation Around (1870) . She died at Eastbourne on the 3rd of March 1879 .

Leave a Reply

