Fiesta Waffles for Breakfast

I have been loving my new menu calendar.  One new recipe that I have tried recently that was a hit was the Fiesta Waffles.  Just click on the words Fiesta Waffles on the calendar to be taken directly to the recipe.

September Menu Calendar

They were so easy to make and look so good to eat.

You just have to try them but I must warn you to keep an open mind.  They do provide a nice change to the usually sweet breakfasts.  My boys were not excited about the possibility when they saw the ingredients that went into the waffles.  But a rule in our house is that you eat what mom makes or you are free to wait until the next meal to eat something different:0  A second rule about the diner table is that you must try everything.  Of course everyone have certain preferences but often children are not able to discern what they will like so they should be encouraged to try.  There are adult like that too.  Well I made a triple batch and I had no leftovers.  We topped them with guacamole and IMO sour cream.  Delicious.

Fiesta Waffles topped with guacamole and IMO sour cream

It has been so nice to have a consistent plan to follow.  There are so many things that a stay-at-home-homeschool mom has to worry about, what to eat does not have to be one of them.  And because I am really trying to watch what I eat (trying to lose some stubborn weight) having a plan keeps me from reverting to the easy but not so healthy meals.

Oh, and for those interested, I created my menu calendar using Keep and Share.  It is so easy, you are send a daily reminder of the things you need to remember and your calendars can be hyper linked.  No more trying to dig up recipes.  I simply click on the links for that day and get cooking.  So easy and fun.  I have however, printed up a copy and posted on my refrigerator for easy access.  The kids seem to like looking up what’s cooking.

Leave a Reply

